Vancan Outta The Blue


Spirit Bear & Great Bear Rainforest Saved Thanks to the Power of Persistence

12189207_838368869615691_4107042953610064493_o

Twenty years ago, a 13-year-old BC boy began an inspiring journey that just so happens to have recently reached its pinnacle moment.

Simon Jackson rose to fame with a TV special that aired in 2005. I must have watched it four or five times. The subject of that special, his quest to save the Spirit Bear or as it’s known by its true name, the Kermode bear, is officially complete.

12507105_947416688673076_1419966893289801344_n

Simon Jackson

These gorgeous beasts can continue existing because of Simon’s work to save the Great Bear Rainforest of British Columbia. I believe the bear and that land owe Simon their existence. In a day and age where we’re all so consumed by what resources we have, it’s amazing that a young, now 33-year-old Simon could convince the powers that be to make the RIGHT decisions on a matter of this nature.

Back in high school, beginning in 2005 coincidentally, I was president of the Earth Club, which I also founded. Two years later before my graduation, I insisted that we donate some of our club money from recycling, $25o to be exact, to Simon’s organization, the Spirit Bear Youth Coalition. I’m proud to say now that I and the members we had in our club 10+ years ago helped make a difference in the long term.

What really made it come full circle and confirmed to me that donating to the SBYC was actually when I met Simon in 2007 the night I was given a City of Surrey Youth Recognition Award for Community Dedication. Simon was the MC for the awards ceremony and I was lucky enough to have a conversation with him before it all began. Even then, nearly a decade before he’d reach his ultimate goal, I knew I’d just met someone who was in fact going to go on to make a gigantic difference in all of our lives. Have no doubt, this does affect everyone because now the habitat of the Kermode won’t be destroyed, leaving it a desolate wasteland. It means it can forever be enjoyed by people who respect the Earth.

Needless to say, this achievement is solid proof that a young person can do great things if he or she puts his or her mind to it and is dedicated to the cause.

If you’re interested in a summation of the events that have occurred leading up to the recent accomplishment by Simon and what it all means, check out this post. SERIOUSLY, DO IT!!! 

Also make sure to give a looksie at his latest endeavours, CoalitionWILD and Ghost Bear Photography. Better yet, shoot him a follow on Twitter @dSimonJackson.

Thanks for reading. Until next time, peace.

(All photos courtesy Simon Jackson/Ghost Bear Photography)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment