Vancan Outta The Blue


A Locked Out Fan: Volume One
September 17, 2012, 21:03
Filed under: General | Tags: , , , , ,

Josh Hall, 100 Mile House – They say there’s a first for everything and as the title suggests, this is the first volume in what shall be a periodic update from a lonesome and locked out fan.

Unfortunately, this is not the first time in our lifetime we’ve had to sit and ponder the meaning of life while our heroes on ice battle with their bosses.

Image

A shot to the heart is what this lockout is. Higgy knows…

If this is the first time in your lifetime, you’re too young to be on the internet, so get off of it now.

If you heard your older sibling talking about my writing and asked them to print it off for you, then you are very resourceful for a 6 year old and I predict that you shall do well in life.

Anyways, what I would like this (hopefully short) series to be about is what hockey means to a guy like me, a fan of the game and my team until the day I drop dead in a doughnut factory.

Don Koharski would be proud.

Seriously though, it’s been 48 hours since the NHL locked out its players and that is a travesty. It never should have gone this far. Regardless of which side you are on at this very moment, the two sides have had months and months to negotiate a new deal.

Yet for some reason they decided to wait until a month and a half ago to commence the needed deliberations.

I stand firmly on the side of the players though. Today on Facebook, I got into a debate with someone as I am almost certain many of you reading this have as well, again regardless of which side you’re on.

This was my penultimate comment that pretty much sums up why I take the side of the players:

“The issue is that players have signed contracts and are being asked to take major pay cuts of around 20%. The issue here is the NHLPA bowed to the NHL’s commands already 7 years ago. The issue is that now the NHL is asking the NHLPA once again to take less money. The NHLPA should be commended because they have offered to take less than what they’ve been receiving the last 7 years which is 57%. They have actually offered to take around 52%. The issue here is the greedy Mr. Bettman and the owners who even the week leading up the lockout officially being announced were handing out huge contract extensions to star players (Alex Burrows, Evander Kane, Kari Lehtonen) and yet they complain that players are making too much. People wouldn’t have jobs if there were no customers, we get that but that is not the major issue. Check out TSN, you’ll see a video of Carey Price telling the fans how much they just want to get back on the ice and play the game because without they feel lost. I firmly stand by the players because they have done nothing but concede and concede more.”

Maybe you agree with me and maybe you don’t but we all as fans have a common desire. That would be to see some hockey games.

Perhaps I am biased because at one point I wanted to be in the NHL, albeit when I was very young.

Perhaps it’s the straight up fact that players like the Leafs’ James Reimer and Habs’ Mathieu Darche stating that they want to play simultaneous to a new CBA being negotiated. However, the owners won’t have any of that.

I mean who cares about pre-season really? Not this guy! To be perfectly honest, I’m happy to see the Canucks just skating together right now so I’m not even too concerned about a training camp.

Of course if a deal is to be reached in time for the regular season to start on time, there’s still the case of Roberto Luongo to be dealt with. What an off-season eh?! It’d sure be funny if it were more eventful than the 2012-13 regular season.

[random thoughts due to lost and confused hockey mind = dangerous]

To close, I’ll just say that I remain optimistic although I certainly don’t have any reason to be. I’m not a TSN Hockey Insider and I don’t yet have Mike Gillis on speed-dial so I can’t dish you the latest rumours and secrets from the bargaining table.

I will have Mike Gillis on speed-dial. Oh yes, I will have Mike Gillis on speed-dial.

Maybe I am optimistic because I see too much good that can be lost if the owners and players don’t get their scheisse together.

So I’ll sit here on my couch, writing these things, watching Monday Night Raw (don’t judge me), continuing to hit the twit (tweet) and hope that there really are Hockey Gods because with the distance between both sides right now, it seems that maybe they’re the only ones who can save us now.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

