Vancan Outta The Blue


How I Hurt Myself at HNIC’s Play On

Yesterday was Day 1 of HNIC’s Play On Street Hockey tournament at Metrotown and I was taking part for the first time. Of course, you only make it to day 2 if you play well enough on Day 1.

Our team was called the W.A.S.P.’s and our first game was at 8:40am. Keep in mind this was the first time any of us had played an actual game together. We’d never practiced or anything.

The games are split into two 15 minute halves with a 5 minute break in between halves. It was the second half yesterday morning, when I was on a breakaway, deked to the left and my right knee just gave out on me. I missed the net too but besides that, I crumpled to the ground in pain.

I got up after a minute and walked it off, but didn’t play again in that game.

Our next game was scheduled for 1:20, so I got some ice between games and tried to make my knee feel better. It did feel a little better but leading up to the game, I was walking around a bit and it started to hurt a bit more. Well, I played anyways, which is a decision I’d like to say I don’t regret, but I kinda do. I ended up re-aggravating it badly and it was about 20x worse after the game than it was prior. What’s amazing I like to think is that I scored a goal as the ball squirted through the goalie’s pads and sat on the goal line. I made a quick jab at it and it went across the line. That cut the score to about 15-2.

It’s funny because we were in the division called Muckers. It’s essentially for beginner teams. There is no way in hell that any of the 3 teams we played that day (minus myself for the 3rd), should have been in our division. They were faster, and had much better control. It was clear they could’ve played in a higher division.

Anyways, the 2nd game ended, and I went to first aid, got some more ice then went and sat down with my friends. I told them I couldn’t go that evening for the 5:20 game. It sucked but my knee was effed right up. They understood and I asked one of them to walk with me home, which is like 5 minutes from Metrotown. About 1/4 of the way there, well..before we could get out of the Metrotown Parking lot, I was like, “I really think I should go to the hospital and get an x-ray so my pal helped me get over to the first aid again. I basically was Gandalfing it with my hockey stick. When we crossed the street, I even held my stick up to a car and said, “You shall not pass!”

So we get to the first aid, I’m in agony, and they give me some oxygen and call an ambulance. I ended up going in the ambulance, (which was my first time in one) and headed to Burnaby General. It was also my first time with laughing gas. It didn’t make me laugh and unfortunately, did not dull the pain. I was talking to the paramedic in the ambulance when he was asking me questions and I told him all I was trying to do was be like RYAN KESLER, playing on one leg and all. He laughed and reminded me that Kesler is making millions of dollars. We got to the hospital, I waited what felt like an hour in agonizing pain before a doctor saw me and gave me some morphine.

Rest of the long story short, I am now typing this to you from home…with torn cartilage and pulled muscles around my knee (I can’t remember exactly what he said). My leg is all wrapped up and I am on crutches for at least 4 days he said, at which point, I should re-evaluate my pain level. He prescribed me physio so this knee problem doesn’t linger and that should start within a couple weeks.

It sucks because I probably won’t be in a position to go downtown tomorrow for the Canucks game, but I’ll enjoy a cup win from my own living room just as much.

Game 6 is tomorrow, Go Canucks Go

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Josh is all ready playing on 1 leg!! hope you get better soon bud!

Comment by Parksy

thanks parksy boy, thanks for posting it on facebook haha

Comment by Josh Hall

Here’s hoping it’s not more serious than that – sounds so similar to my knee when I ruptured my ACL and the only way to determine that possibility was after the swelling went down (although not 100% confirmed until an MRI). All the best Josh!

Comment by Chris (@lyteforce)

thanks chris. the doc didnt seem to think it was that bad and the x-rays showed no breaks or anything. ill get through it.

Comment by Josh Hall

He’ll play. You know he’ll play. He’ll play on one leg…

Comment by J.J.

ya that was basically my mindset

Comment by Vancan19

and now I AM ON CRUTCHES haha

Comment by Vancan19

That was an amazing read dude. Get well soon. Ready for next season 🙂

Comment by hemantrocks

thanks man! haha please comment more on future posts if u feel so inclined,..glad u enjoyed it

Comment by Vancan19

Awesome story Josh! It must have been very tough for you to keep playing like that….I don’t think I have read a more extraordinary, motivating, and touching story than this one right here! You’re a warrior man! Hope you start feeling better soon! Am still going through physio for a badly injured leg so I can sympathize a bit. I understand how tough it is endure pain and work to fix it but eventually, it will all work out in the end.

Comment by David Robert Thomson

thanks bud

Comment by Vancan19

im sure theres more heroing stories than this one though lol

Comment by Vancan19

np man 😀 and haha if so, can’t recall 😛

Comment by David Robert Thomson




Leave a Reply

