Vancan Outta The Blue


Canucks Crazy

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this is uncharted territory for not only the Canucks, but a generation of fans. I turned 5 years old during the 1994 Cup Run,  and I don’t remember a thing first hand. All I have learned about Greg Adams, Kirk McLean and Cliff Ronning has been from people who lived that run to the limit.

Well now, for the first time in 17 years, and the first time in my 22 year life I’ll be able to remember, the Canucks are headed to the Western Conference Final. Not since the West Coast Express Era of 2002-03 have I been more excited for this team. Sure that team didn’t get past the 2nd round, but they had talent and they invigorated the fan base like I hadn’t seen before. The team that has evolved from that into what we had two years ago, into what we have now is a glittering masterpiece. Depth, of course, the key to that. The team has talent, strength, speed and incredible goaltending and there’s certainly more than one reason why they have gotten to this point.

It is safe to say that the fans of this team, especially the hard-cores, are on pins and needles waiting for this 3rd round to start tomorrow night. I know I am, and when the puck is finally dropped, the wave of synergy that wipes over this city for the following week or two will be panic inducing. It will cause fans to go crazy and do crazy things to show their love for this team. Guess what? There’s nothing wrong with that. Why? Because Vancouver Canucks fans don’t get to experience this every year. We haven’t had opportunities to say that we are one of the top four teams in the NHL at the end of the year. Of course top four is not and never will be good enough, but that’s just it. Our team has a legitimate chance to be the Number One team, the head honchos of the NHL. Why shouldn’t we go nuts?

You tell me!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

